Series Review: The Mentalist Series, Kenechi Udogu

The Mentalist Series33858294

By: Kenechi Udogu

Length (Combined): 574 pages

Published: January 14th, 2017

Rating:four-stars 1/2

Synopsis:

The complete series in one box set. Follow Gemma and Russ as they discover their connection in this young adult series of paranormal abilities, family secrets and forbidden love.

Books:

  1. BROKEN TIES – Prequel
  2. AVERSION – Book One
  3. SENTIENT – Book Two
  4. KEEPERS – Book Three

Broken Ties

29909010Paul Colt has a problem, and it is not one most teenage boys face. Yes, he likes a girl; one he’s pretty certain he’ll do foolish things for, given the chance. But he can’t go after her, or any other girl for that matter. That’s what he gets for being an Averter; forced to toe the line for the propagation of the collective. He knows some rules are okay to trifle with, and there are some which should never be broken. The gravest of them all?
Don’t fall in love.
Ever.
This is the story of how Paul breaks that rule

Aversion

16069212For Gemma Green’s first time, things should have been straightforward. Find your subject, hold their gaze and push a thought into their head to save them from future disaster – Aversion complete. A pretty simple process given that the subject was to have no recollection of the experience. But Russ Tanner doesn’t seem to want to forget. In fact the more she tries to avoid him, the more he pushes to get to know her. Gemma knows she has a problem but is she facing the side effects of a failed Aversion or has the school’s tennis champ really fallen for her?

Sentient

18483384Mastering her Progressive Empath abilities isn’t going as well as Gemma hoped. In fact, months after finding out what she really is, she still has no clue what this truly means. All she can do is wait to see if any new abilities will eventually manifest. Things aren’t going great with Russ either. Unsure of how to handle her Sentient Link with him, she tries to integrate herself in his busy social life but struggles to adjust to her new circumstances.
When she is plagued by recurring nightmares, Gemma realises things are changing and knows she has to do something, fast. The arrival of two sets of strangers in town, both offering the much needed assistance she needs to unearth her powers, escalates the situation even further. Gemma attempts to decipher whose intentions are genuine, but does she have enough time to figure out who has her best interest at heart?

Keepers

32714373The dust appears to have settled after the brief descent of the Progressive Empaths on Sandes. But, if there is any truth to Anthony’s story, Gemma and her friends know they might soon have to face the mysterious Keepers. Myth or real threat, one thing is certain; running is no longer an option, for any of them. Can Gemma protect the ones she loves without forming an unlikely alliance?

Review:

 

 

This series was so much more than I had anticipated. The story of Gemma Green is one coming of age story that you will not want to miss. Gemma always knew she was special she just didn’t know what was hidden within herself.

Udogu created what I can only explain is a way better version of Jiminy Cricket. What if there was someone who could persuade you to change the path you were about to take. A Path that could not only hurt you but others. Then as an even more of a twist having our main character go through her own trials and tribulation just when she thought she had it figured out.

While following the journey with Gemma that cast was just hands down amazing. The eclectic personality allows you to find a connection to at least one person who comes into play. Beautifully detailed and orchestrated. But I think what I enjoyed most was that the characters are flawed. Nothing brings a book down more me than all the characters being perfect. I loved that they made mistakes and didn’t share much in likenesses.

The plot of this series flows seamlessly through. So much so that you have the box set you may not even realize how far you have read until you reach the end. While the books do run on the shorter side, that shouldn’t deter you from checking it out. Because they pack in a ton of twist and is loaded with action.

I was pleased with this series and am shocked that more people haven’t read it. My only downfall is the covers. I know ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover’. While the cover does justice for the story it doesn’t really draw you in.

Overall it’s an amazing series. For fans of Red Queen Series, The Mortal Instruments Series and a dash of Shatter Me Series.

 

19 thoughts on “Series Review: The Mentalist Series, Kenechi Udogu

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: